America's Service Commissions header graphic shows AmeriCorps members being sworn in and text that reads Uniting States in Service

Welcoming our 2019-2020 Board of Directors

photo of 2019-2020 board of directors

WASHINGTON, Oct. 1, 2019 – America's Service Commissions (ASC) and its member commissions from across the country recently approved a new slate of board members and officers for the 2019-2020 year during its annual Membership Assembly on September 18, 2019.

Congratulations to the following incoming leaders whose terms will start today, October 1, to help guide and shape ASC as the nonprofit association of the 52 state service commissions in the year to come:

2019- 2020 Board Officers:

  • Amber Martin-Jahn, Chair – WA – Executive Director, Serve Washington
  • Maureen Eccleston, Vice Chair/Membership Chair – PA – Executive Director, PennSERVE
  • Antonio Mendez, Public Policy Chair – CO – Executive Director, Serve Colorado
  • Ginna Holmes, Resource Development Chair – MI – Executive Director, Michigan Community Service Commission
  • Phil Kolling, Secretary – VT – Executive Director, SerVermont
  • Richard Swarttz, Treasurer – At-largeCFO, Peace Corps

2019- 2020 Board Members (in addition to Officers above):

  • Katie Abbott – AK – Executive Director, Serve Alaska (continuing)
  • John Albright – MO – Commission Chair, Missouri Community Service Commission (continuing)
  • Jeanne Duffy – WI – Executive Director, Serve Wisconsin (continuing)
  • Caroline Farmer – NC – Executive Director, Volunteer NC (continuing)
  • William Hall – OH – Executive Director, ServeOhio (new)
  • Beverly Hoster – OK – Commission Chair, Oklahoma Community Service Commission (continuing)
  • Bill Hulterstrom – at-large – President/CEO, United Way of Utah County (continuing)
  • Judd Jeansonne – LA – Executive Director, Volunteer Louisiana (continuing)
  • Julia Keehner – WV – Commissioner, Volunteer West Virginia (continuing)
  • Cat Keen – FL – National Service Programs Director, Volunteer Florida (continuing)
  • Charlette Kremer – ID – Commissioner, Serve Idaho (new)
  • Kevin Mays – KY – Commissioner, Serve Kentucky (new)
  • Shelly McAlpin – WY – Executive Director, Serve Wyoming (continuing)
  • Scott McFarland – IL  Executive Director, Serve Illinois (continuing)
  • Beth McGuinness – MA – Director of Programs, Massachusetts Service Alliance (continuing)
  • Kate Scheuritzel – CT – Director of Programs, Serve Connecticut (continuing)
  • Marty Weinstein – At-large (CA) – CEO, Bay Area Community Resources and Co-Chair, California AmeriCorps Alliance (new)

"We are so fortunate to have this slate of talented state service leaders on our board this year," said Kaira Esgate, Chief Executive Officer for America's Service Commissions. "Whether they represent state commissions, service programs, or strategic allies, I know they will bring fresh ideas and new insights to our work so we can strengthen our association even further. Our work as an association for the state service network has never been more important than it is today."

ASC would also like to thank its outgoing Board members and officers for their past years of service:

With Thanks for Their Service:

  • Lindsay Dolce – At-large (Board member since 2013)
  • Adam Lounsbury – IA (Board member since 2013)
  • Leslie Silverman – At-large (Board member since 2016)
  • LaDawn Stoddard – UT (Board member since 2013)
  • Linda Thompson – GA (Board member since 2017)

To learn more about the ASC Board of Directors or to see the list by region, click here.


About America’s Service Commissions

America’s Service Commissions (ASC) is a nonprofit, nonpartisan association representing and promoting the 52 state service commissions across the United States and territories with the mission to lead and elevate the state service network. State service commissions are governor-appointed public agencies or nonprofit organizations made up of more than 1,000 commissioners, private citizens leading the nation’s service movement and administering 80 percent of the federal AmeriCorps funds to address pressing community needs.

America's Service Commissions | 455 Massachusetts Ave, NW, Suite 153 | Washington, DC 20001 (202) 813-0807