Fourteen Leaders Receive National Recognition from America's Service Commissions

Awardees Honored from California, Delaware, Idaho, Iowa, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, Texas, Utah, and Washington

WASHINGTON, Sept. 25, 2020 – Fourteen community leaders from across the nation were recognized at the 2020 America's Service Commissions (ASC) Innovation and Leadership Awards last night at the first ever virtual iteration of the event. The awards program is held by ASC each year, typically in Washington, DC, to recognize the accomplishments of state service commission staff, commissioners, service programs and their champions throughout the United States and its territories.

This marked the first year the event was celebrated virtually due to COVID-19.

Congratulations to the following awardees:


2020 ASC Innovation & Leadership Award Recipients:

  • Friend of America's Service Commissions: Senator Chris Coons (Delaware)
  • Friend of America's Service Commissions: Senator Roger Wicker (Mississippi)
  • Friend of America's Service Commissions: Congressman Dave Loebsack (Iowa)
  • State Service Leadership Award: State Senator Tony Vargas (Nebraska)
  • State Service Leadership Award: State Representative Matt Wilhelm (New Hampshire)
  • State Service Leadership Award: Mayor Michael Tubbs (California)
  • Outstanding Commissioner: Paul Calistro (Delaware)
  • Outstanding Commission Executive Director: Renee Bade (Idaho)
  • Outstanding Commission Staff: Jaclyn Kolar (Texas)
  • Outstanding Commission Staff: Sarah Sadowski (Montana)
  • Outstanding Service Program: United Way of King County (Washington)
  • Outstanding Service Program Staff: Gail Klearman (Iowa)
  • Honor Roll: Bill Hulterstrom (Utah)

"It's an honor to celebrate these fourteen national service leaders and champions right now at this critical juncture in our nation's history," said Kaira Esgate, CEO of America's Service Commissions. "We are grateful for their tireless work and stepping up to meet the moment through service, in spite of a global pandemic and greater challenges than we ever could have imagined a year ago."

Like/share this News on Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, and Twitter


Watch the Event, Opening Video, and Awardee Videos on YouTube


View this Press Release on PR Newswire



About America’s Service Commissions

America’s Service Commissions (ASC) is a nonprofit, nonpartisan association representing and promoting the 52 state service commissions across the United States and territories with the mission to lead and elevate the state service network. State service commissions are governor-appointed public agencies or nonprofit organizations made up of more than 1,000 commissioners, private citizens leading the nation’s service movement and administering 80 percent of the federal AmeriCorps funds to address pressing community needs. Learn more at




Thank you to our 2020 Event Sponsors!

Gold Sponsor:

Silver Sponsors:



Bronze Sponsors:


Commission Champions:

Massachusetts Service Alliance

Michigan Community Service Commission

Oklahoma AmeriCorps




Volunteer Delaware

Volunteer Mississippi


State Service Supporterss:

Do Good, Be Good


Individual Champions:

Maureen K. Eccleston

Kaira Esgate

Shannon Stober (Verve Exchange Consulting)

LaDawn Stoddard

America's Service Commissions | 455 Massachusetts Ave, NW, Suite 153 | Washington, DC 20001 (202) 813-0807