America's Service Commissions header graphic shows AmeriCorps members being sworn in and text that reads Uniting States in Service

Announcing the 2018 ASC Innovation & Leadership Award Winners

Nine Leaders Recognized from Alabama, California, Colorado, Illinois, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Texas and Washington

For Immediate Release 

September 13, 2018

Contact: Emily Steinberg, ASC Director of External Affairs,, (512) 961-1702

WASHINGTON, DC – Nine outstanding community leaders from across the nation were recognized at a reception in Arlington, VA at the 2018 America’s Service Commissions (ASC) Innovation and Leadership Awards. The awards program is held by ASC each year in the Washington, DC area to recognize the hard work, leadership, and accomplishments of state service commission staff, commissioners, service programs and their champions throughout the United States and its territories.

View the event program for award descriptions >>


Congratulations to the following seven leadership awardees:

2018 ASC Innovation & Leadership Award Recipients:

Friend of America’s Service Commissions: Senator Roy Blunt (R-Missouri)

State Service Leadership Award: Governor John W. Hickenlooper (D-Colorado)

Outstanding Commissioner: Kate Kelly (Minnesota)

Outstanding Commission Executive Director: Scott McFarland (Illinois)

Outstanding Commission Staff: Caitlin Brooking (Mississippi)

Outstanding Commission Staff: Ia Moua (California)

Outstanding Service Program: YWCA of Central Alabama AmeriCorps (Alabama)

In addition to the seven leadership awards, America's Service Commissions inducted two outstanding individuals to the ASC 'Honor Roll' who have blazed a trail and left behind a lasting impact on the state service commission network through their long-lasting careers in service:

2018 ASC Honor Roll Inductees:

Elizabeth Darling (Texas)

Debbie Schuffenhauer (Washington)

“We applaud these nine honorees for their outstanding contributions to the field of national and community service,” said Kaira Esgate, CEO of America’s Service Commissions. “The collective talent and vision of this group is truly extraordinary -- their dedication to improving communities through service has inspired their colleagues and partners across the nation. From being role models and mentors, to advocates and champions in state government and Congress, these nine individuals have gone above and beyond to strengthen the state service network at the local, state, and federal level."




#   #   #

About America’s Service Commissions (ASC)

America’s Service Commissions (ASC) is a nonpartisan, nonprofit association representing and promoting the 52 state service commissions across the United States with the mission to lead and elevate the state service network. ASC is a peer network of governor-appointed commissioners, along with staff from the state service commissions.

State service commissions are governor-appointed public agencies or nonprofit organizations made up of more than 1,000 commissioners — private citizens leading the nation's philanthropic and volunteer movement — and administering 80 percent of the federal AmeriCorps funds to address pressing community needs. The nation’s 52 state service commissions operate at the state and local level granting more than $300 million from federal national service funds while matching these federal dollars from state and local sources to support citizen service and volunteerism in America. These funds support more than 40,000 AmeriCorps members throughout the country.



Awards Sponsored by:

Gold Sponsors:  


City Year logo

Serve Illinois logo

Silver Sponsors:

Galaxy Digital logo

OnCorps Reports logo

Serve Connecticut logo

UServeUtah logo

Volunteer Mississippi logo


Commission Champions:

Michigan Community Service Commission


Serve Montana

Serve Washington


State Service Supporters:

Meche Consulting, LLC


Oklahoma AmeriCorps

America's Service Commissions | 455 Massachusetts Ave, NW, Suite 153 | Washington, DC 20001 (202) 813-0807