ASC 20th Anniversary & The ASC 20 Awards



On September 12, 2017, we celebrated 20 years of America's Service Commissions and launched our new logo and brand with more than 250 invited guests at the Kennedy Caucus Room, located on Capitol Hill in the Russell Senate Building in Washington, D.C. View event sponsors, photos, and video below.

To honor our 20th anniversary, we were proud to spotlight the following 20 individuals as 'the ASC 20', longtime state service champions who have made our work possible since our organization's inception in 1997.


Congratulations to the ASC 20:

Senator Thad Cochran (MS)
Carrying the torch for national service and state service commissions in Congress

Senator Tom Harkin (IA)
Leading congressional efforts for national service and state service commissions

Senator Orrin Hatch (UT)
Statesman for the role of state service commissions

Senator Harris Wofford (PA)
Establishing the value proposition for national service and state service commissions

Governor Haley Barbour (MS)
Recognizing the role of national service and state service commissions in times of disaster and beyond

Governor Terry Branstad (IA)
Taking state service to the next level from the Governor’s Office

Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger (CA)
Elevating state service to the highest levels of state government

Diana Rodriguez Algra
Leading state service efforts at the state and national level from 1991 and beyond

William Basl
Demonstrating the power of state service for more than three decades

Tom Branen
Advocate for state service commissions and their programs

Kyle Caldwell
Critical leader in transitioning ASC and state service commissions to their next stage of growth

Eizabeth Darling
Maximizing service as a strategy at both the federal and state levels


Nicky Goren
Positioning state service commissions for growth and impact


Bill Hulterstrom
Long-standing Board member and backbone for America’s Service Commissions


Deborah Jospin
Recognizing and supporting the need for a national association as a national service leader


Michael Kenefick
Equipping state service commissions with the tools to be successful in advancing state service


Rosie Mauk
Leveraging the role of ASC and state service commissions to advance service


Marsha Meeks Kelly
Advocate for state service commissions both in and outside the Corporation for National and
Community Service


Shirley Sagawa
Visionary for national service and the roles that states can play in developing service


Wendy Spencer
First state service commission and ASC leader to serve as the CEO of the Corporation for
National and Community Service

Thank you to our Sponsors!

Silver Sponsors:

Bronze Level Sponsors:
  • Cities of Service
  • City Year
  • OnCorps Reports
  • Stacy Higa
Commission Champions:
  • Arizona Governor’s Commission on Service and Volunteerism
  • CaliforniaVolunteers
  • Massachusetts Service Alliance
  • Michigan Community Service Commission
  • Mississippi Commission for Volunteer Service/Volunteer Mississippi
  • Missouri Community Service Commission
  • Nevada Volunteers
  • Oklahoma AmeriCorps
  • Serve Connecticut
  • Serve DC
  • Serve Indiana
  • ServeMinnesota
  • ServeMontana
  • ServeNebraska Commission
  • Serve Washington
  • United Way Association of South Carolina
  • UServeUtah
  • Volunteer Florida
  • Volunteer Louisiana
  • Volunteer West Virginia
  • AL!VE (Association of Leaders in Volunteer Engagement)
  • Rachel Bruns
  • Kyle Caldwell
  • Comcast
  • Conservation Corps Minnesota & Iowa
  • Liz Darling
  • Kaira Esgate
  • Paula Kaiser Van Dam
  • Michael Kenefick
  • Leading to Change
  • Rosie Mauk
  • On3Learn – Amy Salinas and Jennifer Cowart
  • Rodriguez-Algra Family
  • Jim Snell
  • Emily Steinberg
  • Shannon Stober
  • Southwest Airlines
  • Kris Tecce, Tecce Consulting
View this year's ASC Annual Reception and Awards information >>