America's Service Commissions header graphic shows AmeriCorps members being sworn in and text that reads Uniting States in Service

America’s Service Commissions Announces Its New Board of Directors and Officers for 2022-2023 Term

The Board of Directors provides invaluable guidance and leadership to the membership association.

WASHINGTON, DC (October 3, 2022) — America’s Service Commissions (ASC) is pleased to announce its new board members and officers for the 2022-2023 term, which officially began on October 1. The Board of Directors helps guide and shape ASC, the national association representing the 52 state and territorial service commissions, and their service programs, across the United States.

“We continue to benefit from the time, talent, and tremendous expertise of these state and territorial service leaders who serve on the ASC Board," said Kaira Esgate, ASC Chief Executive Officer. "As a membership association, the input of our board members in our mission and strategic plan is absolutely critical, especially as the field of national service continues to expand in order to meet the most pressing challenges of the current moment. I have no doubt this group of leaders will guide us through whatever we may face — whether good or bad — in our efforts to advance service as a strategy this coming year.”

The below slate of new board members and officers was approved by ASC’s commission members during its annual Membership Assembly, held virtually on September 20, 2022.


  • Judd Jeansonne, Chair — Executive Director, Volunteer Louisiana (new chair)
  • Ginna Holmes, Vice Chair / Public Policy Chair — Executive Director, Michigan Community Service Commission (new officer)
  • Cat Keen, Membership Chair — National Service Programs Director, Volunteer Florida (new officer)
  • Jeanne Duffy, Treasurer — Executive Director, Serve Wisconsin (re-appointed)
  • Kate Scheuritzel, Secretary — Director of Programs, Serve Connecticut (new officer)


  • Katie Abbott — Executive Director, Serve Alaska (continuing)
  • John Albright — Commission Chair, Missouri Community Service Commission (continuing)
  • Thenera Bailey — CEO, SISGI Group and SISGI Beyond Good Ideas Foundation (continuing)
  • Kristen Bennett — CEO, Service Year Alliance (continuing)
  • Owen Brown — Youth Commissioner, Volunteer Mississippi (continuing)
  • Vanessa Diamond — Commissioner, Virginia Service (continuing)
  • Al Dixon — Commissioner, Serve Alabama (newly appointed)
  • Steve Epstein — Commission Chair, Volunteer New Hampshire (continuing)
  • William Hall — Executive Director, ServeOhio (re-appointed)
  • Beverly Hoster — Commission Chair, Oklahoma Community Service Commission (continuing)
  • Julia Keehner — Former Commission Chair, Volunteer West Virginia (continuing)
  • Charlette Kremer — Commissioner, Serve Idaho (re-appointed)
  • Shelly McAlpin — Executive Director, Serve Wyoming (continuing)
  • Beth McGuinness — Deputy Director, Massachusetts Service Alliance (continuing)
  • Jessica Dorsey — Executive Director, Kansas Volunteer Commission (continuing)
  • Nathan Rix — Commission Chair, Oregon Serves (newly appointed)
  • Richard Swarttz — CFO, United Way of Lee, Hendry, Glades and Okeechobee Counties (continuing)
  • Marty Weinstein — CEO, Bay Area Community Resources and Co-Chair, California AmeriCorps Alliance (re-appointed)

ASC also extends its deepest gratitude to the following outgoing board members for their service:

  • Maureen Eccleston — former executive director, PennSERVE (five years of service) 
  • Caroline Farmer — former executive director, Volunteer NC (four years of service)
  • Marc McAleavey — former executive director, Serve Indiana (one year of service)
  • Lisa Spinali — former commissioner, California Volunteers (two years of service)


About America's Service Commissions
America's Service Commissions is a nonprofit, nonpartisan association representing and promoting the 52 state service commissions across the United States and territories with the mission to lead and elevate the state service network. State service commissions are governor-appointed public agencies or nonprofit organizations made up of more than 1,000 commissioners, private citizens leading the nation's service movement and administering more than 75 percent of the federal AmeriCorps funds to address pressing community needs.