State Service Leadership

America’s Service Commissions recognizes state and local leaders championing the role of national service and volunteering in their communities. This award recognizes leaders who understand how service is a unique strategy to meet pressing community needs. 

Past award recipients:
2020: State Senator Tony Vargas (Nebraska), State Rep. Matthew Wilhelm (NH), Mayor Michael Tubbs (Stockton, CA)
2019: Governor Larry Hogan (Maryland)
2018: Governor John Hickenlooper (Colorado)
2016: Governor Jay Inslee (Washington)
2015: Governor Terry Branstad (Iowa)
2014: Senator Orrin Hatch (Utah)
2013: Mayor Vincent Gray (District of Columbia)
2012: Lt. Governor Jay Dardenne (Louisiana)